My Campaign: 3/9/12 Update – update

I will be out of the loop most of today as I am turning in my papers to the Los Angeles County Registrar/Recorder’s office in Norwalk today. I received a phone call on Wednesday that I was short 20 signatures on my papers for the 37th Congressional District race in California. I’ve worked hard the past two days to make up that deficit and I now have more than enough signatures – I just hope that there are enough valid signatures to overcome the difference. A big Thank You to my hair stylist, Myrna, who help gather signatures at her hair salon over the past two days.

In addition to my congressional papers, I am also turning in my papers for the CA 54th Assembly District Central Committee seat which, as of last night, had papers pulled by 13 people – the most I’ve seen in the past 6 years for this committee (previously the 47th AD Central Committee). As this is the last day to file, I expect the county office to be busy and I may not get back from it until after 5 PM. I will update later tonight on this same post.

Remember: It’s Time for REAL Change!

Update at 4:15 PM PST: I got a literal last minute call from Los Angeles County Registrar/Recorder. It seems my petition fails by two signatures. I had a lot of bad signatures it seems – 22 – and when all the good signatures were counted, I failed by two. I don’t blame this upon anyone but myself. I can still go the write-in route, but it requires a hefty percentage of cast write-in ballots in June to put me onto the ballot for November. So although the congressional race is over for now, I am still in the running for 54th AD Central Committee and will certainly give that my all.

About davidccrowley

political candidate, father, husband and homemaker.
This entry was posted in 2012 Elections, 37th CA Congressional District, 54th AD Central Committee, CA 54th Assembly District, Campaigning, David Crowley for Congress and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.