It’ll be a Couple of Weeks

Last Thursday, my computer suffered a massive viral/malware attack when I visited a site to check on the background of a local political candidate. I got the info I was looking for, but when I tried to leave the page and got to another page on the same site, I got what appeared as an anti malware ad (cleverly calling itself “Anti Malware GO”) inviting me to stop malware attacks by buying their product. I became suspicious at that, even though it could have been a pop-under ad. Then I found that I literally could not access any file on my computer and I also could not start ANY application. The files were mysteriously all “corrupted.”

I have spent the week since then moving all my files to a separate hard drive, doing a complete reinstall of the OS and software that came with my computer. A bit difficult to do since my laptop has a dead display and can only see very, VERY dimly what is on the screen – and that only in a completely dark room. Why don’t I get it fixed? It’s well beyond warranty and with other issues the computer has, it would actually be cheaper just to get a new one.

Which is what I am doing. It won’t ship to me until the end of March or the beginning of April. Until then, I will be offline. I do have another computer available, but it is an old laptop that runs on Windows 98. This update is made possible via my son’s laptop. So I will see you no more than a month from today with the first of my blogs about Karen Bass and her first two months in office. I can tell you though from a cursory look through her voting records and press releases that she seems intent on following her vote Democratic only directive consistently.

About davidccrowley

political candidate, father, husband and homemaker.
This entry was posted in Computers: Hacking, Karen Bass. Bookmark the permalink.